Custom Search

Monday, June 2, 2008


Career Path for Clinical Molecular Genetics---Part I

First, probably the most important step is to get in an accredited training program after you've got your Ph.D degree.

The two-year Clinical Molecular Genetics Fellowship Program leads to the American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG) eligibility in Clinical Molecular Genetics. The goal of this specialty program is to train individuals with a doctoral degree (M.D. or Ph.D.) to perform and interpret molecular analyses relevant to the diagnosis and management of human genetic diseases.

You will be prepared to direct a molecular diagnostic laboratory and to act as a consultant regarding laboratory diagnosis of a range of disorders. Your training includes didactic sessions, active involvement in clinical case sign out, and training in laboratory bench work associated with research or development projects. The training you will receive in this fellowship program encompasses all aspects of medical genetics (i.e. clinical genetics, genetic counseling, biochemical genetics, cytogenetics, and molecular genetics).

Not many universities offer the fellowship programs. Particularly, the spots are always limited for each program. At most cases, it is anticipated that only one trainee will be accepted each year or even every other year for each program. The competition is always high. And you need to plan years ahead before you actually apply for it.

Here is the list of the accredited training programs for Clinical molecular geneticists.
  1. Baylor College of Medicine
  2. Case Western Reserve University
  3. Cincinnati Children’s Hospital
  4. Children's Hospital Ohio State University
  5. The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  6. Columbia University/NY Presbyterian Hospital
  7. Duke University Medical Center
  8. Emory University School of Medicine
  9. Greenwood Genetic Center
  10. Harvard Medical School Children's Hospital
  11. Henry Ford Hospital
  12. Indiana University School of Medicine
  13. John’s Hopkins University, Institute of Genetic Medicine
  14. Mayo Graduate School of Medicine
  15. Medical College of Virginia
  16. Mount Sinai School of Medical
  17. NIH/Children's Natl Medical Center
  18. Oregon Health Sciences University
  19. Stanford University School of Medical
  20. Tufs-New England Medical Center
  21. Tulane University Health Sciences Center
  22. UCLA Intercampus Medical Gen
  23. University Alabama, Department of Genetics
  24. University California San Francisco School of Medical
  25. University California, San Diego
  26. University Chicago
  27. University Colorado Health Sciences Center
  28. University Florida
  29. University Iowa
  30. University Medical & Dentistry, NJ Medical School
  31. University Miami School of Medical
  32. University Michigan School of Medical
  33. University Missouri-Columbia
  34. University North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  35. University Health Center of Pittsburgh
  36. University Texas at Houston
  37. University Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  38. University Utah Medical Center
  39. University Washington, Seattle
  40. University Wisconsin-Madison
  41. Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
  42. Wayne State University School of Medicine
  43. Yale University School of Medicine
Source: The American Board of Medical Genetics (ABMG)
Comments: Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Subscribe to Posts [Atom]